Thursday, April 19, 2007

Division of Natural Resources Celebrates Current Students, Alumni, Staff, and Faculty

Natural Resource Division Student Andrew Tait receives Arts & Sciences award for Science from Natural Resource Learning Specialist and Biology Instructor Susan Roberts.

Fish and Wildlife Instructor Dave Dudek presents Josh Reams with an award for Excellence in Education and Stewardship Award in Fish and Wildlife Technology.

Ryan Manning, Geospatial Technology Student receives award for Excellence in Education and Stewardship from Geospatial Technology Instructor Pete Kennedy.

George Thomas, Horticulture Technology Instructor, presents Dawn Pomraning with an award for Excellence in Education and Stewardship in Horticulture Technology.

Matt Smith receives Excellence in Education and Stewardship Award in Forest Management Technology from Forest Management and Geospatial Technology Instructor Blair Bishop.

David Fulbright, Matt Smith, Ryan Sparks, Andrew Tait, Tony D. Ward, and Christopher Wieler are honored by the North American Forest Technician Honor Society represented by Blair Bishop.

Bob Pinkston, longterm technician in the Natural Resources Division and HCC alumni receives Superior Service Staff Award from President Rose Johnson.

Vice President Bill Rhodarmer presents Dawn Pomraning, Horticulture Technology student, with a North Carolina Community College Academic Excellence award. Dawn will be traveling to Raleigh later this spring to represent HCC at the state level.

W.C. Godfrey, Pulp and Paper Technology Instructor in the Natural Resources Division receives Excellence in Teaching Award presented by Lynn Beddow.

Natural Resource Division Chairperson Doug Staiger presents Ron Lance with the 2007 Outstanding Alumnus Award. As a 19-year-old, Ron wrote the dendrology manual that is still in use today by instructor's in the Division. Ron went on to work in a variety of natural resource leadership roles and authored four books along the way.

There were also several other Natural Resource Division Students including Erin Bellavia and Zach McTaggart that were recognized for their work as Student Ambassadors and Tutors.

No comments: